top of page
  • Rocky Rochford

Guest Post: The Eyes of Mares Blog Tour

To celebrate the release of the second instalment in the Rise of the Elohim chronicles, the Eye of Mares is going to blog hopping like a headlining rockstar, multiple showings for over the course of two weeks, with a new page shared with each appearance, continuing from where the last one went off and today I get to host the latest page:

The Eye of Mares – Part 6

****Chapter Two****

The Story Continues

Years passed since the King’s murder. Another summer took hold of Oceania, gripping it once more. On the largest island in all of the Mares Realm, change was underway.

The Isle of Iris was home to a dormant volcano housing an ancient temple, and the Watchers. Even Iris itself had changed greatly; its forest was smaller, its training grounds larger and now occupying the eastern side of the island was a much larger farm for vegetables, livestock, and even a large wooden mansion, two-storeys high.

This wasn’t the only new structure. At the highest point of the whole island, in the very centre, resided a small two- storey building, home to one man and his raven. Then over in the forest, high above the ground, there was a wooden house built around a Nogmal tree and its branches.

Rectangular in shape, the building was twice as wide as it was across and it was home to just one of the Island’s very important inhabitants. With open round windows, the house itself had many entrances into it, as well as the front door. Around the structure were a number of well-placed ropes, intended for a quick getaway, and a single rope ladder, leading to the ground below. Inside the house, there was also a hidden trap door, hidden beneath a red rug.

The building itself consisted of three rooms—two bedrooms at either end of the treehouse, with a great room in between that served as a kitchen, dining, and communal area…

****Here concludes todays Page****

Be sure to check out the continuing blogs to watch the story continue, or pick up a copy direct from Amazon: The Eye of Mares – Out now!

You could even let the adventure continue and check out its prequel, where the story began and the series was created: The Spirit of Iris – Out now!

****Book specifics****

Author: Rocky Rochford

Illustrator: Ashleigh Longman

Title: The Eye of Mares

Series: Book 2 of the Rise of the Elohim Chronicles

Genre: Illustrated YA fantasy adventure

Book Content Rating: Suitable for ages 12 and up

Tag-line: “Darkness has many forms and Mares is its playground.”


Nearly four years have passed since Zach drew blade against the Shanzi Shimay and now the time has come for him to draw his sword once more. The Realm of Mares has fallen victim to invasion as three terrifying beasts of darkness, seek to destroy the world around them, as they await the inevitable arrival of their King.

With dark times ahead, the numbers of the Watchers on Iris has grown, as Zach is joined by seven fellow students, all too eager to prove their worth. It's not long before the students are put to the test facing off against the Nein Navy and uncover a dark secret.

The stage is set and the Battle for Mares is under-way.

****Rocky Rochford Biography****

Rocky Rochford is your standard guy, if your standard guy scuba dives, partakes in underwater photographer and is a wake-boarding, adventure seeking, sword collecting, marine conservation supporter. After living life on the road and the places between, he finally settled down but not without benefiting from all the lessons life had to teach him.

Self-professed “Student of Everything, and Master of Nothing,” Rochford does not choose what he writes, but writes what chooses him, be it fantasy, crime, poetry, philosophy or even adventure. Life is a journey we all get to experience, just like a good book. Every read into another of his typed works is another trip into the imagination of his mixed up, crazed and deranged mind and this year along those works include the likes of full novels and novellas such as:

Wait and Bleed – The Don’t Turn Around Collection (Horror collection of the entire Don’t Trilogy)

Other works released by him, are a number of short stories pertaining to horror, paranormal and romance, as well as other works released as part of an anthology:

The Devil You Know (Paranormal short)

Salt in the Wound – Part of the Entwined Saga (Paranormal short)

The Food of Love (featuring Him & Her) – An Anthology by Solstice Publishing (Romance filled Anthology)

Him & Her (Romance Standalone release)

Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep Volume II (featuring The Devil Before) – An Anthology by the Solstice Shadows (Paranormal themed Anthology)

Awethology Dark (featuring Ghosts) – An Anthology by the #Awethors (Adult stories pertaining to a darker theme)

The December Awethology Dark Volume (featuring Seven Years Bad Luck) – An Anthology by the #Awethors (Adult stories pertaining to a darker theme, set around December)

****Welcome to the World of Rochford****

Social Media Links:

Rocky Rochford’s website:

Rochford writes a little something for everyone, so if Mares isn’t your cup of tea, you can guarantee one of his many other works certainly is!

3 views0 comments
bottom of page